How Much Does Medical Marijuana Cost in Virginia?

Apply For Virginia Medical Marijuana Card Online

Schedule Appointment

How Much Does Medical Marijuana Cost in Virginia?

Patients registered in the Virgina Medical Cannabis Program pay different prices for comparable medical marijuana products at licensed dispensaries in the Commonwealth. The dispensary price of medical cannabis in Virginia is determined by factors such as location, product type, and cannabis quality and strain. Across different dispensary locations in Virginia, the average price of 1 ounce of high quality marijuana is $365 while the same amount of medium quality marijuana is about $300.

Can You Use a Credit Card at a Dispensary in Virginia?

No. Virginia dispensaries are unlikely to accept credit cards. With credit card companies blocking marijuana-related transactions because marijuana remains illegal at the federal level, dispensaries are wary of accepting credit cards for payment. Rather, Virginians can pay for their marijuana orders with cash and debit cards.

Does Virginia Tax Medical Marijuana Sales?

Yes. Patients are expected to pay the state’s 5.3% sales tax on their medical marijuana purchases.

Does Recreational Marijuana Cost More than Medical Marijuana in Virginia?

Although Virginia legalized recreational marijuana in July 2021, the state’s legislature continues to refuse approving the re-enactment clause in the law required to commence retail sale. However, Virginia’s recreational marijuana law already sets a 21% excise tax on adult-use cannabis sale, in addition to the state’s 5.3% sales tax, and allows local governments to levy up to 3% on the retail cannabis sales completed within their municipalities. With these taxes on recreational cannabis, it is likely to cost more than medical marijuana when its sales commence in Virginia.

How to Save Money on the Cost of Medical Marijuana in Virginia

The Commonwealth of Virginia does not offer lower cost medical cannabis to any group of registered patients. While the state’s medical cannabis law does not allow home cultivation, its recreational marijuana law allows home cultivation for adults, aged 21 or older. These adults can grow up to four cannabis plants at home for personal use.

Medical marijuana patients in Virginia can still save on the cost of the cannabis prescription by shopping at dispensaries offering sales, discounts, and loyalty programs. They can also compare prices from different dispensaries in order to get the best prices for their preferred medical cannabis products. Other ways to save on the cost of medical marijuana include buying in bulk at dispensaries and switching from flowers to edibles to enjoy longer-lasting therapeutic benefits.

In this section: