Medical marijuana caregivers, better known in Virginia as Registered Agents, are persons registered with the Virginia Board of Pharmacy who have been designated by patients to assist in obtaining and administering medical marijuana. Minors and incapacitated adult patients who qualify to use medical marijuana in Virginia may designate registered agents to help them with medical marijuana use. An incapacitated adult, pursuant to Section 18.2-369 of the Virginia code, is any individual aged 18 or older who is impaired by mental illness, intellectual disability, physical disability, or advanced age and who lacks sufficient understanding and capacity to make reasonable health decisions.
A caregiver can be a patient's family member, friend, spouse, or nurse. An individual may serve as a caregiver for up to two registered patients per time in Virginia.
If you have consented to help a qualified patient with medical marijuana use in Virginia, you must register with the Board of Pharmacy. To complete the registration, follow these steps:
Virginia Board of Pharmacy
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, VA 23233
Fax : (804) 527-4472
Allow for 30 days for the application to be reviewed for approval. Once approved, you will receive an approval notification. Subsequently, the caregiver registration card will be mailed to your address as listed on the application. For more information on becoming a medical marijuana caregiver in Virginia, contact the Virginia Board of Pharmacy at (804) 367-4456 or review the registered agent application instructions guide on the Virginia Department of Health Professions website.
Patients appoint medical marijuana caregivers in Virginia. The Commonwealth of Virginia does not assign or designate caregivers for qualifying patients. However, patients must ensure that the caregivers designated fulfill the eligibility conditions outlined by the Virginia Board of Pharmacy. Typically, minors must designate their parents or legal guardians as caregivers. Adult patients may designate spouses, family members, or friends as caregivers. It is recommended that the caregiver designated be familiar with the patient's medical condition and be trustworthy. Caregivers can hold and transport medical marijuana products for their patients within Virginia.
A caregiver may possess up to 4 ounces of botanical cannabis per 30 days to be dispensed to a patient. The possession limit for cannabis products for caregivers is a 90-day supply for their patients. Such products may contain a minimum of 5 mg of CBD or THC-A per dose and up to 10 mg of THC.
Pursuant to the 2021 Cannabis Control Act, Virginias aged 21 or older cangrow up to four marijuana plants per household for personal use. However, there are no clear statutes within the Act addressing grow permissions and limits for medical marijuana caregivers.