No, there are no marijuana dispensaries in Suffolk. The Virginia Drug Control Act gave residents of the state the right to access medical marijuana once they obtain a written certification from an approved doctor. In 2021, HB 2312 and SB 1406 were passed by the Virginia House and Senate to enable Virginia residents 21 years and over to possess recreational marijuana. These laws also provided for the creation of the Virginia Cannabis Control Authority and the sale of recreational marijuana beginning July 1, 2024.
No, there are no medical marijuana dispensaries in Suffolk, Virginia. However, the Drug Control Act, which established the state's medical marijuana program, established five medical cannabis dispensaries across each of the state's designated Health Service Areas. Licensed medical dispensaries currently operate in four cities in Virginia. These include Abingdon, Portsmouth, Richmond, and Manassas. Suffolk residents can buy medical marijuana from dispensaries in nearby cities like Portsmouth.
Although there are no physical dispensaries in Suffolk, residents of the city are permitted to purchase cannabis from online weed dispensaries in nearby cities. Virginia law allows the delivery of cannabis products to local addresses.
There are no dispensaries in Suffolk. Some dispensaries in cities near Suffolk allow patients to pre-register before visiting to enable them to process their purchases in a timely manner. Patients who do not pre-register must bring their valid government-issued IDs and a copy of the written certification issued by a licensed physician.
Suffolk does not have any laws regulating the operations of dispensaries. Per Virginia state law, dispensaries can only sell medical cannabis to legal residents of the state. Dispensary employees are required to make a copy of each patient's written doctor's certification for medical cannabis. They are also mandated to check patients’ or caregivers’ IDs at the point of cannabis sales. Dispensaries near Suffolk can only allow a patient to purchase a 90-day supply of medical cannabis. Within a 30-day period, dispensaries can only dispense 4 oz of medical cannabis to a patient.
The recreational marijuana laws operating in Virginia, the home state of Suffolk, also apply in Suffolk, and they include the following :
Only adults who are 21 or older can possess up to 1 oz of marijuana in Suffolk
Adults in Suffolk are allowed to grow up to four marijuana plants in their homes
Each marijuana plant grown indoors by a Suffolk resident must carry an identification tag
Adults in Suffolk are allowed to gift marijuana to other adults, provided no money is exchanged
Persons under the age of 21 found in possession of marijuana in Suffolk will be fined $25 and required to attend a substance abuse awareness program
Registered cannabis patients in Suffolk are permitted to purchase 4 oz of medical cannabis every 30 days. The decision to recommend medical marijuana is left to the discretion of doctors. Medical cannabis products sold to patients or their caregivers must contain a maximum of 10 mg of THC per dose. Cannabis patients or their caregivers can grow up to four marijuana plants in their homes.
According to the provisions of HB 933, beginning from July 2022, it is no longer necessary for Suffolk residents to possess medical marijuana cards in order to purchase their supplies. However, medical marijuana patients who choose to obtain a medical card from the Board of Pharmacy must apply online and pay the required $50 fee. The medical marijuana registration card will be mailed to the applicant upon approval.
Suffolk residents are only allowed to consume cannabis within their homes.
The average price for 1 oz of medium-quality marijuana in medical marijuana dispensaries in cities near Suffolk is $289, while the average cost of high-quality marijuana is $365.
The most popular strains of marijuana sold in dispensaries in near Suffolk include the following:
Bulldog Chiquita Cake
No, public smoking of cannabis is strictly prohibited in Suffolk, as elsewhere in Virginia. Public exchange of marijuana is equally prohibited under Virginia law.
Per Virginia law, residents of Suffolk who are registered patients can possess up to 4 oz of cannabis every 30 days. Patients are entitled to keep up to a 90-day supply of cannabis.
No, it is illegal to ship cannabis into Suffolk because federal law classifies it as a Schedule 1 Drug, and interstate movement of cannabis products is prohibited.
Yes, residents of Suffolk can order cannabis from online dispensaries in nearby cities and have the products delivered to them.
There are no dispensaries in Suffolk.
Tourists in Suffolk are not allowed to use medical marijuana dispensaries near the city. Only residents of Virginia can legally purchase medical marijuana products. Out-of-state medical marijuana cards are not recognized.
Dispensaries near Suffolk require customers to present government-issued ID cards before they can buy cannabis products. Patients are also required to provide a copy of their doctor's certification for medical marijuana.
There are no dispensaries in Suffolk.
Virginia law makes it mandatory for state-licensed dispensaries, including those near Suffolk, to scan patient's IDs in order to verify their validity. This must be done before dispensing medical marijuana products.
As of January 2023, there were no licensed marijuana dispensaries in Suffolk.
Because cannabis is still federally prohibited, dispensaries in Virginia, including those in cities near Suffolk, do not accept credit card payments. Most dispensaries accept debit cards or cash payments.
There are no dispensaries in Suffolk. Virginia law, however, stipulates that patients can only buy 4 oz of medical marijuana within a 30-day period.
No, Virginia-licensed dispensaries near Suffolk do not accept health insurance as payment for marijuana or marijuana products.
Yes, Virginia dispensaries, including the ones near Suffolk, are required by the Drug Control Act to track weed purchased by residents to ensure that patients stay within the legal possession limits. Dispensaries must record the name and address of every weed buyer after each transaction.
While there are no dispensaries in Suffolk, patients who are 18 years old and have a written doctor's certification in the city are allowed to enter dispensaries in nearby cities.
Information regarding cannabis regulation in Suffolk, Virginia can be obtained from the office of the Virginia Cannabis Control Authority. Their office location is:
333, E. Franklin Street,
Richmond, VA 23219
The website address of the Cannabis Control Authority is cca.virginia.gov.
Illegal cannabis activities can be reported to the Suffolk Police Department in person at:
111, Henley Place
Suffolk, VA 23434
The Suffolk Police Department can also be contacted at (757) 514-7915 or (757) 923-2190.