Yes. Adults (21 years and older) and pharmaceutical processors may grow marijuana plants in Richmond County. According to the Virginia Cannabis Control Authority, lawmakers legalized home cultivation on July 1, 2021. Adults can grow up to four (4) marijuana plants per household for personal use. Those who have more than one place of residence shall plant marijuana at their main home.
Home cultivation of marijuana plants may be done indoors or outdoors, but it must not be visible from the public view. The person growing the plant must ensure people under 21 do not have unauthorized access. Each plant must be labeled with the following information: the person’s name, ID number or driver’s license, and a note that the plant is authorized by law for personal use.
Pharmaceutical processors are facilities permitted by the Board of Pharmacy to cultivate cannabis plants for the production of cannabis oil, botanical cannabis, usable cannabis, and other cannabis products. Board-certified, degree holders, or experienced individuals in the cultivation of plants shall supervise an employee to perform marijuana cultivation-related duties. Similarly, employees are supervised by degree holders in chemistry or pharmacology or those with at least two years of experience in extracting chemicals from plants.
Yes. The Board of Pharmacy issues permits to pharmaceutical processors or cannabis dispensing facilities authorized to manufacture and distribute medical marijuana to patients with written certification from their physician and legal guardians. The Board establishes the requirements for application. The Board allows one pharmaceutical processor permit for each health service area. These permits must be displayed in a conspicuous place of the processor or dispensing facility.
Licensed processors and dispensers shall follow the regulations set forth by the Board regarding the health, safety, and security of the manufacturing and dispensing facilities. Some rules include the following: physical standards, location restrictions, security systems and controls, minimum equipment and resources, and recordkeeping. Processors must carefully package and sufficiently label the cannabis product according to its potency and the amount recommended by the practitioner or dispensing pharmacist.
Independent laboratories in Virginia must test a sample from every batch of cannabis products made by the pharmaceutical processor.
Yes. Medical cannabis dispensing facilities sell marijuana products to patients with a written certification, their registered agent, parent, or legal guardian. The Board of Health under the Virginia Department of Health determines health service areas in the state. Licensed pharmaceutical processors may establish up to five (5) cannabis dispensing facilities per health service area.
These facilities shall set up processes to ensure the safe and secure distribution and delivery of cannabis products to patients, registered agents, parents, or legal guardians. The retailers shall dispense cannabis products within the 90-day supply, as determined by the certified practitioner or pharmacist.
While the sale of cannabis products to patients is allowed, the State of Virginia has not created an adult-use retail market. Recreational users of marijuana can only access such products through home cultivation. Homegrown marijuana cannot be sold to other persons. Individuals who sell or intend to sell marijuana may be subject to felony or misdemeanor charges.
Adult sharing is an exception to the abovementioned prohibition. It is the transfer of one (1) ounce or less of marijuana between individuals aged 21 years or older without compensation. It does not apply when marijuana is given simultaneously with another reciprocal transaction between the same parties, when marijuana given as a gift is offered or advertised together with an offer of sale or goods or services, or when marijuana as a gift is dependent upon a separate and distinct reciprocal transaction for goods or services.
The eligible patients of Richmond County may purchase cannabis oil, botanical cannabis, and other cannabis products allowed by the Board of Pharmacy, as indicated in the cannabis dispensing facilities’ licenses. Cannabis oil should not contain more than 10 milligrams of delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol. Some cannabis products available at cannabis dispensaries are tinctures, extracts, edibles, vape pens, and vape cartridges. Recreational users may make their DIY marijuana edibles.
Yes. Only patients with a written certification for the use of medical cannabis from a certified physician or registration card (or their registered agent, parent, or legal guardian) can purchase medical marijuana from cannabis dispensaries that offer delivery services.
On July 1, 2022, House Bill 933 stated that a registration card furnished by the Board of Pharmacy is no longer required to possess medical cannabis products.
Instead, registered practitioners for medical cannabis issue written certifications to patients to allow them to purchase medical marijuana at dispensaries. Patients must submit an online application to obtain board registration. The patients may authorize an agent, legal guardian, or parent to buy the products. Thus, parents and legal guardians must also have their board registration. These individuals shall only need to present the written certification and a government-issued ID to claim medical marijuana.
Nevertheless, patients may still opt to own a physical medical cannabis card for $50.
Written certification for medical marijuana shall be issued to patients who are residents of Virginia and is diagnosed with any one of the qualifying conditions:
Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome
Epilepsy or another seizure disorder
Inflammatory Bowel Disease
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
Sickle Cell Anemia
Terminal illness with less than one year to live
Board of Pharmacy
Phone Number: (804) 367-4456
FAX Number: (804) 527-4472
Medical cannabis is not subject to sales and use tax. However, according to the 2021 Legislative Summary of the Virginia Department of Taxation, an excise tax of 21% is imposed on selling retail cannabis products, cannabis paraphernalia, and non-retail cannabis products. By ordinance, any locality in the state may impose a 3% tax on any sale taxable under the state cannabis tax.
According to a cannabis consultancy firm, the medical cannabis program in Virginia could potentially generate up to $150 million by 2025. Meanwhile, if the recreational marijuana market is legalized, it could bring about $875 million to $1.1 billion by 2026. As for tax revenue, the state is projected to reach $31 million to $62 million within the first year of recreational cannabis sales.
In Virginia, medical marijuana was legalized in 2020, while recreational marijuana was legalized in 2021.
The FBI Crime Data Explorer records arrests for driving under the influence (DUI), illegal possession of marijuana, and illegal sale and manufacturing of marijuana.
According to the Virginia State Police, Richmond County had 5 DUI-related arrests in 2019 and 7 arrests in 2021. In 2019, 12 apprehensions were made against those who illegally possessed marijuana. This number was reduced to 3 arrests in 2021. As for the illegal sale and manufacturing of cannabis, only one arrest was reported in 2019 and none in 2021.